Coconut Kefir Yogurt

July 30, 2009

1cocoyogurt

After making coconut water kefir the other day, I was left with the coco meat and the tantalizing option to make coconut kefir yogurt presented itself.  While the water takes up to 48 hours to culture, the yogurt only takes overnight.

Perfect translucent spoonmeat for yogurt

Perfect translucent spoonmeat for yogurt! 

I scooped out the meat – perfectly tender, deliciously gelantinous young coco meat –  into the blender and added just enough water to bring it to the consistency of heavy cream.  As I learned from making seed yogurt, if it’s not fluid enough it won’t culture properly and can spoil before the beneficial bacteria get a chance to propagate.  So add a bit of liquid – a bit of coco water or filtered water is perfect.

Cocomeat in blender.

Cocomeat in blender.

Next, I added the same Body Ecology kefir powder I used to make the cultured coco water and blended it, adding the tiniest bit of liquid and adjusting the fluidity as I went until it was somewhere between loose regular yogurt and heavy cream.

Coco yogurt: Before

Coco yogurt: Before

As I mentioned in the cocowater post, I’ll use the water kefir grains for daily use simply because they are the sustainable option, having no packaging to throw away.  You can order them from me for $15, including shipping, by emailing me.  Thanks again, Irina!

I wanted to try this powder starter to see how it works and so far it seems just fine.  Certainly convenient.  Will be useful for travel, when you really want to insure healthy inner bacteria balance.  And now that coco water is available almost anywhere, life is becoming so easy!  I mean, about 4 years ago, I found fresh Thai coco’s in, of all places, an Oklahoma Walmart!

Coco yogurt: After

Coco yogurt: After

As you can see in the photo above, it has nearly doubled in size and is full of bubbles that show that the beneficial bacteria are busy loving life!  Bless them, then welcome them to their new home – your belly – where they will live long, productive lives of beneficial, prosperous creativity.

When I tasted it the next morning, it was slightly fizzy, super creamy and quite tart.  I had some goji berries left over from making homemade goji juice and used them as a topping along with a spoonful of honey.

An aside about honey and bee pollen:  I am careful to only use honey that is far, (hundreds of miles far), from regions where GMO plants might be grown.  This honey is raw Himalayan forest honey and I can only hope it’s far from any GMO’s blowing in the wind.  I also only get New Zealand bee pollen for the same reason – their country has very strict laws about allowing live GMO plants in their country from what I understand and so I tend to trust that their pollen is virtually guaranteed GMO-free.

It’s pretty much impossible to say that for anywhere else, because, being specifically designed by Nature to carry genetic info from plant to plant, pollen travels on the wind and can be blown for distances of hundreds of miles, not to mention the fact that pollinating insects are designed to carry it far and wide.  I avoid conspiracy theories like the plague but of course the principles of pollination were understood when agri-biz began producing gmo’s, so it really is worth it to vote with your dollars by only purchasing things that your educated guess determines likely to be non-gmo or are clearly labeled non-gmo.

3cocoyogurt

4 Responses to “Coconut Kefir Yogurt”

  1. Naptress Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!..I have to say I’m loving yours..I have yet to make live yogurt so I will definetly try your recipe and the quinoa salad!

  2. Andrew Silverman Says:

    Hi there, can you tell me if you can make Kefir Yogurt with Water Kefir Grains? Do you still need to add a culture? I cant find a recipe for how to make it.

    Thank you.

    • junglegirl Says:

      Hi Andrew, I’ve tried it with both an opened probiotics capsule and the Body Ecology kefir starter culture, but have not tried to use the water grains for yogurt, only for coco water. You should give it a try though! I do know that in either case, it needs to be a little runny – it will thicken a bit as it cultures… Post a follow-up here if you try it and it works!


Leave a Reply

