Computer Snack

May 6, 2008

I have no reservations about eating while I’m at my computer. In fact, it’s where I eat most of my meals, if I’m absolutely honest about it. At some point I’ll be happily sharing meals with an actual human, but until then, this little laptop is my most frequent dining companion.

If I’m working especially hard online that day, I’ll often find myself in need of a snack and some of those snacks do pass for a meal, occasionally. This is one of them. It’s a quick protein blast that satisfies and nourishes me without taking much time away from whatever project I’m working on.

I’ve always got a supply of dehydrated flatbreads in my “cookie” jar on hand for times like this. And as I’m continuously recipe testing, they are frequently experimental in nature, for better or worse. This one was not perfect, but it worked for a quick snack at home. It was a buckwheat-based flatbread, spread with a hummus I made from sprouted black sesame seeds. I topped that with hijiki and was good to go. The protein and minerals from the seaweed and sesame seeds really serves me well and I’m satisfied until dinner when I can put some greens in my body. (And, um, yeah, a couple of dehydrator cookies are part of the snack equation too : )

This would be great with sprouts too, but I didn’t have any and I was only looking for the quickest thing so I didn’t worry about it, though something green would add to the experience, for sure. Sometimes something, is better than nothing, and this was one of those times as it tasted just great the way it was. I recommend it!

3 Responses to “Computer Snack”

  1. Isle Dance Says:

    Oh yes! Oh yum! Such beautiful photos and so neat to see and read about. YAY! :o)

  2. Hilary Says:

    Can you post the recipes for the flatbread and spread? Thanks!

  3. junglegirl Says:

    Isle Dance: Thank you!

    Hilary: The recipes for these are coming in my soon to be available (and very affordable) eBook, so please stay tuned. I’m working on it as fast as I can! I’ve already got a mailing list of neighbors who are waiting for it so if you like, leave me your email and I’ll send you a notice as soon as it’s ready. And thank you! I appreciate the support SO much – I do my best to support everyone in this community as well because I love this very wonderful world that we are creating here!


Leave a Reply

