Springtime Radish Quick Pickles

April 10, 2008

Radishes have been calling me this Spring, and so I’ve been eating them quite a lot. I found some today at the local health food store that were so ravishingly fresh that I had to get them immediately. I came home and made this easy salad which I dressed simply with shoyu, meyer lemon and a bit of cold-pressed sesame oil. It was a perfectly refreshing pick-me-up for a 2pm snack.

I found my trusty old coconut wood chopsticks that used to go everywhere I went and it was such a pleasure to eat with them again. I don’t eat out much anymore – if I do I tend to pack things like wraps – and I had somehow returned to the habit of using a fork. Funny, but there was a time when I did not like metal to touch any of my food. So I used chopsticks exclusively for years, which were both super fun to use and highly portable!

The simple vinaigrette really complemented the radishes and made a sort of quick pickle. In fact, at the end of the salad, I sliced up another radish or two and tossed them in the remains of the dressing and let them sit for a minute to soak up all the flavor before quickly downing the crisp little slices.

I think making up a jar of these for the fridge is happening soon, they’re that appealing. There is barely a recipe but as I make all sorts of quick pickles, (my recipe book – which is supposed to be finished by now, and will be sooooon…..um – has my favorite recipe for seaweed pickles that are so delicious), I’ll jot down some proportions for you here, but it’s really, really easy to figure out, especially after you’ve made them once or twice:

Quick Radish (or carrot or or watermelon or apple) Pickles

1/2 lemon, juice of

1/8 cup of nama tamari

1/8 cold-pressed sesame oil

1 cup of thinly sliced fresh radishes

Toss it all together and let it sit out for 5 mins or so before eating, or store in the fridge for up to a week. I actually recommend making more but these amounts are just guidelines so go crazy with it. I could have eaten an entire bowlful, but only had the 3 radishes left so…

2 Responses to “Springtime Radish Quick Pickles”

  1. Melissa Says:

    This totally made me crave radishes so badly! Mmmm. I’m going to have to try this. <3

  2. junglegirl Says:

    Haha, great! They’re an excellent souce of sulfer – and therefor really good for your skin, so enjoy as many as you like!


Leave a Reply

